Declaration of Independence
By: Maddie

Who signed it?
Roger Sherman
Samuel Huntington
William Williams
Oliver Wolcott
Caesar Rodney
George Read
Thomas McKean
Button Gwinnett
Lyman Hall
George Walton
Samuel Chase
William Paca
Thomas Stone
Charles Carroll of Carrollton
John Hancock
Samuel Adams
John Adams
Robert Treat Paine
Elbridge Gerry

Josiah Bartlett
William Whipple
Matthew Thornton
Richard Stockton
John Witherspoon
Francis Hopkinson
John Hart
Abraham Clark
William Floyd
Philip Livingston
Francis Lewis
Lewis Morris
William Hooper
Joseph Hewes
John Penn
Robert Morris
Benjamin Rush
Benjamin Franklin
John Morton
George Clymer
James Smith
George Taylor
James Wilson
George Ross
Stephen Hopkins
William Ellery
Edward Rutledge
Thomas Heyward, Jr.
Thomas Lynch, Jr.
Arthur Middleton
George Wythe
Richard Henry Lee
Thomas Jefferson
Benjamin Harrison
Thomas Nelson, Jr.
Francis Lightfoot Lee
Carter Braxton
Who created it/where was it created?
The Declaration of Independence was created in Virginia mainly by Thomas Jefferson. It was approved on July 4th, 1776 by Congress. Congress only changed certain words to sound different, not mean different things.
What are the parts?
There are four parts to the Declaration of Independence. The first part is the Preamble which explains why we wanted to leave British rule and create our own government. The second section states that all men have equal rights such as rights to liberty, right to life, and pursuit of happiness. It also gives the people of a nation the power to get rid of a government if  they aren't satisfied with the job they are doing. The third section lists all the complaints the people had against the British Parliament and king. The fourth and final section declares the colonists free, and is where the signatures are located.
Where is it now?
The Declaration is now stored in the National Archives exhibition hall in Washington, D.C. It has been stored there since 1952.

"Declaration of Independence." Britannica School.Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc., 2016. Web. 15 Feb. 2016. <>.

"Thomas Jefferson." Library of Congress. N.p., n.d. Web. 23 Feb. 2016. <>.

Mkoren. "Explain the 4 Parts of the Declaration of Independence. What Is the Preamble, Declaration of Natural Rights, List of Grievances, and Resolution of Independence?" Enotes. N.p., 24 Aug. 2015. Web. 23 Feb. 2016. <>.

Appleby, Joyce Oldham., Alan Brinkley, James M. McPherson, Albert S. Broussard, and Donald A. Ritchie. "Moving Toward Independence." The American Journey. New York: Glencoe/McGraw-Hill, 1998. 141-42. Print.