Townshend Acts
By Hannah

They were named after Charles Townshend, who used to be the leader of Britain’s government the finace and money department.

In 1767, the British Parliament passed four laws called the Townshend Acts.
First Act: This act was mostly for the Ney York Assembly becasue they had refused to pay for the food, drink, shelter, and transportation of British soldiers in New York. Parliament then  suspended the assembly until they agreed to pay for the needs of the British soldiers.
Second Act: it created taxes for tea, paint, paper, lead and glass that the colonies purchased.
Third Act: created ways to collect the taxes from the colonies.
Fourth Act: it removed fees for Tea Sellers in England on the tea they shipped to the other colonies.
Parliment passed the four acts in June and July of 1767.
Great Britain and North America.
The stamp act was passed in 1765,  which required people in the American colonies to pay some new taxes.
But the next year, Britain had to cancel the Stamp Act because the colonists protested against it so much.
When the Stamp Act ended, the Declaratory Act was passed. That law stated that Parliament could always tax the colonies “in all cases whatsoever.”


"Townshend Acts." Britannica School. Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc., 2016. Web. 9 Feb. 2016. <>.

Appleby, Joyce Oldham., Alan Brinkley, James M. McPherson, Donald A. Ritchie, and Albert S. Broussard. "Taxation Without Representation."The American Journey. New York: Glencoe/McGraw-Hill, 1998. 122-25. Print.

"Townshend Acts." Of 1767 ***. N.p., n.d. Web. 15 Feb. 2016. <>