The Declaration of Independence
by: Megan
John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, Benjamin Franklin, Roger Sherman, and Robert R. Livingston prepared the statement.
The Declaration of Independence was created to give the 13 original colonies independence.
The declaration was signed in Philadelphia.
July 4, 1776.
A document stating America’s independence. War broke out in Britain and the colonists wanted independence. But others wanted a larger amount of self government.

"Declaration of Independence." Britannica School.Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc., 2016. Web. 23 Feb. 2016. <>.
"Delegates Sign Declaration of Independence." A&E Television Networks, 2016. Web. 23 Feb. 2016. <>.
Appleby, Joyce Oldham., Alan Brinkley, and James M. McPherson. "Moving Toward Independence." The American Journey. New York: Glencoe/McGraw-Hill, 1998. 174-78. Print.